Reviews and Articles
  • Log in to Add Reviews, Videos, Etc
  • Places to Buy

    Searching for products...

    About This Item

    Unique ID Code: 0000046900
    Added by: DVD Reviewer
    Added on: 28/3/2003 07:27
    View Changes

    Passage to India, A (UK)

    8 / 10
    1 vote cast
    Rate this item
    Inline Image

    Supreme entertainment and a visual wonder that is truly spellbinding
    Certificate: PG
    Running Time: 157 mins
    Retail Price: £15.99
    Release Date:

    Enter a world where cultures clash so violently that an entire country could split at any moment. Nominated for eleven Academy Awards and winner of two, David Lean`s final movie A Passage To India is a wonderfully provocative tale, full of vivid characters, all played to perfection. With a fabulous cast that includes Peggy Ashcroft, Judy Davis, James Fox, Sir Alec Guinness, and Nigel Havers, this hauntingly beautiful film is an artistic triumph. When liberal-minded English ladies Mrs Moore (Ashcroft) and Adela Quested (Davis) arrive in India, they`re shocked by the extreme racial prejudice that exists there.

    Fortunately, kind Dr Aziz (Victor Banerjee) rises above the intolerance and guides the women on a splendid tour of the mysterious Marabar caves. But the outing turns tragic when Adela suddenly comes running from one of the caves - scratched, bleeding and terribly frightened. News of the incident quickly spreads across the whole of India... igniting a powder keg of tension just waiting to explode. A rich tapestry woven of the clash between two cultures, A Passage To India is supreme entertainment and a visual wonder that is truly spellbinding.

    Special Features:
    Original theatrical trailer

    Audio Tracks:
    Dolby Digital Surround 2.0 English
    Dolby Digital Mono Spanish
    Dolby Digital Surround 2.0 French

    Subtitle Tracks:
    CC: English

    Directed By:
    David Lean

    Written By:

    Saeed Jaffrey
    Art Malik
    Michael Culver
    Antonia Pemberton
    Richard Wilson
    Nigel Havers
    Alec Guinness
    James Fox
    Peggy Ashcroft
    Victor Banerjee
    Judy Davis

    Casting By:
    Dyson Lovell
    Priscilla John

    Soundtrack By:
    Maurice Jarre
    John Dalby

    Director of Photography:
    Ernest Day

    David Lean

    Costume Designer:
    Judy Moorcroft

    Production Designer:
    Herbert Westbrook
    John Box

    Richard B. Goodwin
    John Brabourne

    Executive Producer:
    Edward Sands
    John Heyman

    Your Opinions and Comments

    Be the first to post a comment!