Reviews and Articles
  • Log in to Add Reviews, Videos, Etc
  • Places to Buy

    Searching for products...

    Item Images
    About This Item

    Unique ID Code: 0000216168
    Added by: Jitendar Canth
    Added on: 23/12/2021 16:25
    View Changes

    Nobuhiko Obayashi’s Anti-War Trilogy

    7 / 10
    1 vote cast
    Rate this item
    Inline Image

    A limited edition 3 disc digipack bluray set of 3 films from legendary Japanese director Nobuhiko Obayashi.
    Certificate: 15
    Running Time: 500 mins
    Retail Price: £59.99
    Release Date:
    Content Type: Movie

    Disc 1:
    Casting Blossoms to the Skyこの空の花 長岡花火物語 (2012)
    Endo Reiko is a journalist visiting Nagaoka to comment on the aftermath of the earthquake in Tohoku. From local residents, Endo learns about the city's fireworks traditions, and how the region was destroyed during the war.

    Disc 2:
    Seven Weeks野のなななのか (2014)
    Weaving the life of a 92-year-old doctor into the history of a small Hokkaido city, “Seven Weeks” addresses Japan’s wartime responsibility, its present nuclear crisis and the heartaches of youth and love.

    Disc 3:
    Hanagatami 花筐 (2017)
    In the spring of 1941, sixteen-year-old Toshihiko leaves Amsterdam to attend school in Karatsu, a small town on the western coast of Japan. Immersed in the seaside's nature and culture, Toshihiko soon befriends the town's other extraordinary adolescents as they all contend with the war's inescapable gravitational pull.

    Special Features:
    Interviews with Nobuhiko Obayashi
    Making ofs
    Digipack Limited edition set (2000 copies)
    Includes booklet by historian Aaron Gerow

    Video Tracks:
    1.85:1 widescreen 1080p

    Audio Tracks:
    DTS-HD MA 5.1 Surround Japanese

    Subtitle Tracks:

    Directed By:
    Nobuhiko Ôbayashi

    Written By:

    Shunsuke Kubozuka
    Shinnosuke Mitsushima
    Keishi Nagatsuka
    Tokio Emoto
    Honoka Miki
    Hirona Yamazaki
    Mugi Kadowaki
    Takako Tokiwa
    Takehiro Murata
    Tetsuya Takeda
    Yumi Adachi
    Kazunari Aizawa
    Toshiaki Chiku
    Satoshi Hara
    Natsuki Harada
    Tokie Hidari
    Yasuko Matsuyuki
    Shiho Fujimura
    Misako Renbutsu
    Akira Emoto
    Masahiro Takashima
    Masayuki Yui

    Music From:
    Kôsuke Yamashita
    Joe Hisaishi

    Director of Photography:
    Hisaki Sanbongi
    Hisaki Mikimoto
    Yûdai Katô

    Hisaki Sanbongi
    Nobuhiko Ôbayashi
    Hisaki Mikimoto

    Costume Designer:
    Koichi Fujisaki
    Shigeru Moriwaki

    Production Designer:
    Toshiharu Aida

    Terumichi Yamazaki

    Executive Producer:
    Kyôko Ôbayashi
    Chiga Watanabe

    Third Window Films

    Your Opinions and Comments

    Be the first to post a comment!